YSR Congress sweeps aside Andhra Pradesh local polls

YSR Congress set to sweep local polls in Andhra Pradesh

The YSR Congress led by Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is already in pole position.


Early trends in the vote count today showed that the YSR Congress led by YS Jagan Mohan Reddy was set for a landslide victory in local Andhra Pradesh polls held on Wednesday. The ruling party headed eight municipal corporations and led in 61 of the municipalities and nagar panchayats where results were starting to be reported. The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) came far behind with three leaders in the second category. Others, like Congress and the BJP, had not drawn any draws until about 10:30 a.m.

In all, 12 companies and 75 municipalities and Nagar Panchayats went to the polls on March 10.

In 90 of the 671 divisions of the 12 corporations, the candidates won without competition. In the 75 municipalities and nagar panchayats, up to 490 wards had unanimously chosen members.