To boost BJP presence in states, Nadda revamps national teamNews

Bharatiya Janata party chairman JP Nadda made some organizational changes within the party by reassigning the responsibilities of some of the officials loaned to the party from its ideological parent, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

According to people familiar with the details, further inductions – including the RSS – to the national team are also expected in the coming weeks.

On Thursday, the party announced that Joint Secretary General (organization) Saudan Singh has been appointed vice chairman of the national team and will oversee the party’s work in Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh. Singh will resume party work at a time when the ongoing farmer unrest is at its peak in Punjab and Haryana. Some of the farmers in these states are calling for the repeal of recently passed farm laws, claiming that they do not protect the interests of farmers.

V Satish, also Joint Secretary General (Organization), received a new designation; he will now be Sangathak. Satish, who was previously in charge of states such as Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Gujarat, has been in charge of parliamentary office coordination, SC / ST morcha and Vishesh Sampark coordination or special outreach.

Shiv Prakash, third joint secretary general (organization), has been responsible for Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. He continues to retain responsibility for handling the related elections in West Bengal where the party is preparing for a tough competition against the ruling government Mamata Banerjee.

According to a party leader, these changes are in line with the process of building a new team and strengthening the party’s presence in the states.

“More names will be added to the national team as there are vacancies in several states, including Uttar Pradesh which goes to the polls in 2022; in Odisha, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand, ”said an official aware of the details.

In September, Nadda announced a new national team which included 12 vice-presidents, eight general secretaries, three national co-secretaries and 13 secretaries in addition to 23 spokespersons.