Shahbaz’s reply to Warner; Defeat to Hyderabad, second consecutive win for RCB

Chennai: Royal Challengers Bangalore won the IPL for the second time in a row. Kozhikode beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by six runs at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai. After losing the toss and opting to bat, Bangalore scored 149 for eight in the allotted overs. In reply, Hyderabad scored 143 for nine in 20 overs. Shahbaz Ahmed, who took three wickets in an over, fell short of Hyderabad’s hopes. Earlier, Glenn Maxwell’s (59)’s half-century gave Bangalore the lead. With the win, Bangalore topped the points table. Live score.

Hyderabad got off to a shaky start. Wriddhiman Saha (1) returned with just 13 runs in the third over, but David Warner (54) and Manish Pandey (38) put Hyderabad ahead. Both added 83 runs for the third wicket. But with Warner returning after giving Jamison a wicket, Hyderabad’s decline began. Johnny Bairstow (12), Abdul Samad (0), Vijay Shankar (3) and Jason Holder (4) disappointed. Meanwhile, Manish Pandey also returned to the pavilion. Rashid Khan, who scored 17 off nine balls, looked set to beat Hyderabad. But that hope was dashed when he was run out in the last over. Shahbaz Nadeem (0) is another outfielder. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2) and T Natarajan (0) were not out. Shahbaz Ahmed took three wickets for seven runs in two overs. Mohammad Siraj and Herschelle Patel also took two wickets each. Jamison has one wicket.

Bangalore lost the toss and opted to bat. The Hyderabad bowlers, who put out a regular performance, were also stingy in conceding runs. Jason Holder, who took three wickets for just 30 runs in four overs, was the top scorer for Hyderabad. Rashid Khan took two wickets for just 18 runs in four overs. Bangalore lost two wickets in the first ball of the powerplay. Devdutt Padikkal (11) and Shahbaz Ahmed (14) returned to the pavilion after Kovid was released. He had only 47 runs on the scoreboard.

Virat Kohli (33) and Maxwell, who later joined hands, helped the collapse. Both added 44 runs. But Collie got the ball out of the holder. AB de Villiers (1), Washington Sunder (8) and Daniel Christian (1) were the next to disappoint. Kyle Jamison (12), who finished eighth, made the decisive contribution. Maxwell’s struggle in the finals brought the score closer to 150. Maxwell’s innings of 41 balls included three sixes and five fours. Maxwell returns with a wicket off the last ball to the holder. This is the first time since 2016 that an Australian player has scored a half-century in the IPL.

Earlier, Bangalore came out with a change from the match they played against Mumbai. When Devdutt returned to the team, Rajith Patyadar gave way. Kohli came on to open the innings with Padikkal. Hyderabad had made two changes. Muhammad Nabi and Sandeep Sharma were out. Substitutes were Jason Holder and Shahbaz Nadeem.

Last Updated Apr 14, 2021, 11:38 PM IST