Malayalam News – WTC | Brad Hogg selects team for tournament; Four players from India, no Kohli | News18 Kerala, Sports Latest Malayalam News

WTC |  Brad Hogg selects team for tournament;  Four players from India, no Kohli

Brad Hogg

The first edition of the ICC World Test Championship, which aims to promote Test cricket, has come to an end. New Zealand, led by Kane Williamson, defeated Virat Kohli’s by eight wickets in the final of the Test Championship in Southampton, England.

The tournament, which featured ten Test nations in cricket, was therefore well-received by a large number of players. Former Australia spinner Brad Hogg has announced his squad for the tournament. Hogg’s team consists of four players from India. Of these four, however, Indian captain Virat Kohli has no place. Earlier, Kohli was not invited to the World XI, which was selected by former Indian cricketer and commentator Aakash Chopra to face New Zealand.

Hogg’s openers are Rohit Sharma of India and Dimuth Karunaratne of Sri Lanka. Rohit batted at an average of over 60 in the tournament and scored 1094 runs. He has won three of the four tournaments in the tournament. His highest score was 212 runs. Karunaratne, on the other hand, scored 999 runs for Sri Lanka at an average of 55.5. He has four centuries and half-centuries each.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson is ranked third in the team. Hogg was the captain of the team that led the Kiwis to the title. He scored 918 runs from the tournament, including three centuries and two fifties. Hogg is ranked No. 4 by Australia’s Steve Smith. Smith scored 1341 runs. The Australian has scored four centuries and seven fifties in the tournament. Fifth, Hogg has included Pakistan captain Babur Assam in the squad. Babur has 932 runs to his name. This includes four centuries and five half-centuries. The Hogg team did not include Virat Kohli in the batting line-up, nor did Australia’s top scorer Marnus Labushein in the tournament.

Sixth is England’s star all – rounder Ben Stotox. The Stokes scored 1334 runs. It includes four centuries and six fifties. Hogg has picked India’s youngest batsman Rishabh to replace him as the team’s wicketkeeper. The ball scored 707 runs for India, including one century and seven fifties. Hogg brings in Kiwis all-rounder Kyle Jamison at number eight. Jamieson was the man of the match, taking seven wickets in the final, including a five – wicket haul. Indian spin all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin is ninth. Ashwin was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament with 72 wickets. England’s Stuart Broad is the number 10 player on the team. Hogg Indian fast bowler Mohammad Shamim is in 11th position.

India’s star pacer Jaspreet Bumrak and Australia’s leading pacers Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc have been left out of Hogg’s squad.

Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson (capt), Steve Smith, Babur Assam, Ben Stotoks, Rishabh Pant, Kyle Jamison, R Ashwin, Stuart Broad, Mohammad Shami.


Former Aussie spinner Brad Hogg comes up with the team of the tournament of World Test Championship

Published by:

First published:
June 30, 2021, 11:36 PM IST