Malayalam News – WTC | Akash Chopra named in World XI against New Zealand; Kohli has no place News18 Kerala, Sports Latest Malayalam News

Former India opener and commentator Aakash Chopra has been named in the World XI’s squad to face New Zealand, the ICC’s first world Test champions. The Kiwis, led by Kane Williamson, became the longest-serving champions in cricket after defeating Virat Kohli’s Indian team in the final of the Test Championship in Southampton, England on the 18th of this month. In the final, the Kiwis managed to beat India despite losing two days due to intermittent rain.

After beating India, they were able to achieve their long-held dream of an ICC title. They put out a great performance throughout the tournament. Chopra has chosen a strong line-up against a team that has done so well. Chopra’s squad includes three players from India. But it is noteworthy that Chopra did not consider Indian captain Virat Kohli in this group. Australia is over-represented. Four players from Australia have been named in the squad. Chopra’s squad includes three from England and one from Sri Lanka. Joe Root of England has been named captain of the team.

Chopra’s openers are Rohit Sharma of India and Dimuth Karunaratne of Sri Lanka. Rohit batted at an average of over 60 in the tournament and scored 1094 runs. The player has crossed the three-mark four times in the tournament. His highest score was 212 runs. Karunaratne, on the other hand, scored 999 runs for Sri Lanka at an average of 55.5.

Australia’s Marnus Labushein, Steve Smith and England’s Joe Root are the top three runners – up in the tournament. Labuschain is the tournament’s top scorer with 1675 runs at an average of 72. Chopra said that is why he cannot be left out of the team. Root, who scored 1660 runs in the tournament, could not be ruled out either. He also scored double centuries against India and Sri Lanka. Chopra gives Smith a fifth chance. Smith scored 1341 runs at an average of 63 with four centuries. India skipper Virat Kohli, who is playing in the middle order, could not be selected for the tournament as he could not match his performance in the tournament.

The only all-rounder on the team is England superstar Ben Stokes. India’s Ravindra Jadeja and West Indies’ Jason Holder were also selected for the all-rounder’s position, but Chopra chose Stokes. He scored 1334 runs at an average of 46 and took crucial wickets for his team.

Chopra brought in Rishabh Pant, India’s youngest wicket-keeper. England’s Jose Butler could also be the wicket-keeper. But I considered Rishabh. Chopra said the player, who averages over 700 runs at around 40, is a player who can turn the game around on his own.

Cummins, Broad, Hazlewood, Ashwin The team’s bowling line-up consists of three pacers and a specialist spinner. England’s Stuart Broad is the third pacer, along with Australia’s Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood. Indian off-spinner R Ashwin is the specialist spinner in the XI.

India’s Ashwin and Australia’s Cummins are the two highest wicket-takers in the Test Championship. Ashwin took 71 wickets and Cummins 70 wickets. Broad was also included in the team as he was the third highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 69 wickets. Muhammad Shami was 11th. Antich Norcia, Mitchell Stark and Hazlewood were the four considered. Shamim was upset that he had taken only five wickets. Chopra added that it was then that Hazel was added to the team.

Chopra’s World Test XI

Rohit Sharma (India), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Marnus Labushain (Australia), Joe Root (captain, England), Steve Smith (Australia), Ben Stotox (England), Rishabh Pant (India), Pat Cummins (Oz) R Ashwin (India), Stuart Broad (England), Josh Hazlewood (Australia).


Aakash Chopra selects his World Test eleven to face the Test Champion side New Zealand team; Virat Kohli does not find a spot in his team