Khel Ratna award: BCCI nominates Ashwin, Mithali Raj Mithali Raj | Ravichandran Ashwin

New Delhi: The BCCI has nominated India’s ODI and Test captain Mithali Raj and spin bowler R Ashwin for the Khel Ratna award. Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Jaspreet Bumra have also been nominated for the Arjuna Award.

Mithali, who has completed 22 years in the Indian jersey, is the highest run-scorer in ODIs. The 38-year-old Mithali has 7170 runs. Under Mithali’s captaincy, India reached the ODI World Cup final twice. This achievement was in 2005 and 2017.

Spin bowler Ashwin is a regular in India’s Test team. He took 413 wickets in 79 Tests. He took 150 wickets in ODIs and 42 wickets in Twenty20s. He also excelled in India’s tour of Australia. He took 12 wickets in three matches. He took 32 wickets and scored a century in the series against England in India. He also took the record for most wickets at the World Test Championship, taking 71 wickets.

Ashwin and Mithali have already won the Arjuna Award. Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are the other cricketers who have won the Khel Ratna.

Content Highlights: India Cricketers Mithali Raj And R Ashwin Recommended For Khel Ratna