Gujarat and Karnataka storm Vijay Hazare’s semi-finals


Panchal scored 134 out of 131 balls

Panchal scored 134 out of 131 balls © BCCI

Gujarat vs Andhra – Quarter Final 1

A ruthless Gujarat picked up a massive 117 point victory over Andhra in the quarter-final match in Delhi to advance to the Vijay Hazare Trophy semi-final. The victory kept their unbeaten tournament intact, now stretching it to six games.

The tone for the victory was set by Gujarat skipper Priyank Panchal, who led the forward with a winning stroke of 134 after choosing to beat. On the back of its sleeves, Gujarat posted 299 with mid-range contributions. Panchal hit ten fours and two sixes in his 131-ball stroke.

Arzan Nagwaswalla cast a magnificent spell to derail Andhra’s pursuit, reducing them to 21 for 3 in the sixth. Andhra couldn’t recover from those early blows as they struggled to gain even the slightest momentum. Ricky Bhui tried to keep his side in the chase with a resilient 67 with tail cameos, but once he was fired it was only a matter of time before Andhra was knocked out. Nagaswalla finished with 4-30 in 8 overs, while Piyush Chawla picked three as Andhra were eliminated for 182 in 41.2 overs.

Brief scores: Gujarat 299/7 in 50 overs (Priyank Panchal 134, Rahul V Shah 36, Het Patel 28, Ripal Patel 35; Harishankar Reddy 3-60) defeated Andhra 182 in 41.2 overs (Ricky Bhui 67, Naren Reddy 28; Arzan Nagwaswalla 4 -30, Piyush Chawla 3-33) by 116 tracks.

Karnataka vs Kerala – Quarter Final 2

Shining centuries of Samarth R and Devdutt Padikkal led Karnataka to the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy after an 80-point victory over Kerala at the Palam A Stadium in Delhi.

Kerala were reportedly disappointed with their inability to reclaim early wickets after placing Karnataka, as Padikkal and Samarth’s top pair continued to share a 249 point stand. Along the way, Padikkal smashed his fourth consecutive century in the tournament, making the most of the purple spot he is in, before falling for 101. Samarth, meanwhile, was leading ahead, missing his 8-point double-ton, returned for 192 of just 158 ​​- a move that included 22 fours and 3 sixes, as Karnataka posted a whopping 338 in their allotted overs.

Kerala has not had the best start with Robin Uthappa and Rohan Kunnummal back in the hut six times. Vathsal Govind kept them in the race with a steady 92, as well as lower order cameos, but none large enough to come close to Karnataka’s target. Mohammed Azharuddeen impressed again with a 34-ball 52, but couldn’t get his side over the line at the end as Ronit More returned a five-wicket stroke and Kerala was eliminated for 258.

Brief scores: Karnataka 338/3 in 50 overs (Samarth R 192, Devdutt Padikkal 101; NP Basil 3-57) defeated Kerala 258 in 43.3 overs (Vathsal Govind 92, Mohammed Azharuddeen 52; Ronit More 5-36) by 80 points.

© Cricbuzz