Rishabh Pant was denied a limit because he had been given in error – a decision which was overturned by the DRS – of a ball during his entertaining 77 balls of 40 balls in the 2nd ODI against England Friday.
The pants were given LBW in the 40th after bowler Tom Curran called, but he immediately waved his bat and took an exam. Replays showed there was a thick edge, after which the ball flew over Jos Buttler to the boundary rope. Pant’s dismissal was overturned after that, but a questionable DRS clause saw the four points not added to India’s score, leaving Pant visibly unimpressed.
– Aditya Das (@ lodulalit001) March 26, 2021
Clause 3.7 of Annex D of the ICC Conditions of Play, which deals with DRS, reads: “If, following a request for a review by a player, an initial decision to withdraw is changed to no exit, then the ball is still considered dead when the original ball the decision has been made.
It states: “The hitting side, while benefiting from the cancellation of the dismissal, will not benefit from any stroke which could subsequently have accumulated following the delivery if the referee on the field had initially taken place. . “
FOLLOW LIVE | India vs England 2nd ODI Live
“Something to consider,” was the verdict of on-air commentators.
Thus, Pant lost in 4 races due to a glaring refereeing error. Repeat this for 101010364th time – what if it happened on the last ball of the World Cup final when the batting team needed 2 to win ??? Socho Socho…. #IndvEng
– Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) March 26, 2021
A little later, Pant was again given in error, and he again overturned the decision with a review. He then smashed a 77 of 40 balls before getting caught deep. India finished with 336/6 in their 50 overs.