DC vs MI: Shikhar Dhawan and Amit Mishra shine in Delhi capitals’ victory over Mumbai Indians

Delhi Capitals (DC) Amit Mishra (4/24) woven his web around Mumbai Indians (MI) batsmen to limit them to 137 under par for 9 after the defending champions decided to beat. Opener Shikhar Dhawan then scored with 45 of 42 balls as DC held his nerves in the final passes to chase the target with five balls to spare. It was their first victory against MI in the last five meetings, having lost four times last season to the United Arab Emirates. Chasing 138 to win, DC lost first opener Prithvi Shaw (7) early as he gave a comeback to Jayant Yadav (1/25). Dhawan, who started off with a shortcut for a limit, was joined by Steve Smith (33) as the two resurrected innings adding 53 runs for the second wicket. The two kept the scoring running, while also scoring odd limits as Delhi was 39-for-one after six overs.

Smith, who beat Krunal Pandya on two legs in the 9th, was the aggressor, but a lack of focus sent him back to the hut as Kieron Pollard trapped him in the 10th.

Dhawan hammered five fours and a six and Lalit Yadav (22 not out) kept Delhi in the chase. While DC needed 48 points from the last six passes, Dhawan smashed a six and a four to pull up the 100 before perishing in 15th with Krunal Pandya taking a diving hold in the depths.

Skipper Rishabh Pant (7) also fell cheaply with DC still needing 23 points. Yadav and West Indian Shimron Hetmyer (14 not released) then held their nerves to return home. Hetmyer cut Kieron Pollard on the first ball of the final to put his team on the verge of winning and the game ended when the bowler passed the next one.

Previously, MI had suffered a mid-order meltdown on a slow Chepauk track after finishing 67 for 2 at one point as Mishra-led DC made a dramatic comeback.

By opting for the bat, MI lost the opening game early to Quinton De Kock (1), who edged out a delivery from Marcus Stoinis (1/20) to Pant in the third.

Suryakumar Yadav (24) then joined Rohit Sharma (44), who got his first limit – elegant drive, who ran to a deep extra cover fence in the third. The duo rallied the heats with their stand of 58 points. Rohit faced off-spinner ace Ravichandra Ashwin (0/30) in the 4th in which 15 points were collected.

The MI skipper hammered a limit and a maximum – an attic on an extra blanket, while Suryakumar also got a limit, thanks to an outside edge. Rohit then hit Kagiso Rabada (1/25) for a six on long-off.

Suryakumar then slammed on all fours off Mishra as MI ran to 55 for one after six overs. However, DC caught up to the defending champions by grabbing three quick wickets.

The lead Avesh Khan (2/15) fired Surya, who gave one to Pant, then Mishra knocked out Rohit and Hardik Pandya (0) in 9th place as MI slipped to 77 for 4. Rohit and Hardik got out. both locked up for a long time.

MI then lost half on his side for 81 as Krunal Pandya (1) cut an undercut arm ball by Lalit Yadav (1/17) on his stumps.


Mishra then used his googly to trap Kieron Pollard (2) in front of the wicket, as MI wobbled at 84 for six.

In the end, a 26 manager from Ishan Kishan, who became Mishra’s fourth wicket, along with Jayant Yadav’s 23 sided with the party beyond the 125 point mark.

Topics mentioned in this article