Cristiano Ronaldo’s emotional Instagram post after storming Serbia 2-2 Portugal

There was a major controversy during the World Cup qualifier between Portugal and Serbia on Saturday night.

Portugal led 2-0 at half-time thanks to Diogo Jota’s brace.

But Serbia fought back and tied the game 15 minutes after the restart, with Aleksandar Mitrović and Filip Kostić on the scoresheet.

Portugal believed they had won the game early on.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s strike appeared to cross the line but officials thought otherwise and no goal was given.

Cristiano Ronaldo before Serbia vs Portugal

There is no VAR or goal line tachnology available during World Cup qualifying, so the decision could not be overturned.

To say the Juventus superstar was furious would be an understatement.

The 36-year-old’s protests earned him a yellow card.

When he realized they wouldn’t change their mind, he stormed the pitch before the final whistle and threw his captain’s armband to the ground.

Ronaldo has now spoken in an emotional Instagram post.

“Being the captain of the Portugal team is one of the greatest pride and privilege of my life. I always give and I will give everything for my country, that will never change,” he wrote.

“But there are tough times to deal with, especially when we feel like an entire nation is hurt. Raise your head and face the next challenge now! Come on, Portugal!”

p1f1rj7u3j141fr8vq0e1css16iap.jpg

Portugal manager Fernando Santos said the referee apologized to him after the game.

“The referee then saw what had happened and came to me to apologize for the error,” he said, per Eurosport.

“I have no explanation [for the result]. I just can’t resolve myself. We studied Serbia. We knew how to play them, like we did in the first half. We knew they could change that and we asked the players to do it.

“Serbia started the first half well and scored. They equalized the game but we reacted well, we created opportunities. In the end, the ball was half a meter away but it didn’t been given. It would have been a fair result if it counted. “

“Of course, that doesn’t make up for the fact that we didn’t do well enough. But if we had had the ball in the goal, it should have counted.”

News Now – Sports News

Source