Conway and Sodhi star New Zealand against 66-run BAN

New Zealand beat BAN in 1st T20I: Devon Conway and Ish Sodhi star as New Zealand crush Bangladesh by 66 points to take a 1-0 lead in T20I series
New Zealand beat BAN in 1st T20I: Devon Conway and Ish Sodhi star as New Zealand crush Bangladesh by 66 points to take a 1-0 lead in T20I series

NZ beat BAN: Devon Conway’s unbeaten 92-point clash followed by a sublime bowling performance by Ish Sodhi propelled New Zealand to a massive 66-point victory over Bangladesh in the first T20I on Sunday.

Conway’s stroke and Will Young’s fifty (53) propelled New Zealand to a total of 210 before bowlers limited Bangladesh to 144 points. With the win, New Zealand took a 1-0 lead in the three-game series. Chasing the target, opener Mohammad Naim helped Bangladesh start on a high note as the team scored 16 points on the first two passes. However, the first wicket dropped to the third. Tim Southee fired Liton Das, who scored four.

Read also: NZ vs Ban 1er T20I: Milestone for Martin Guptill; ready to become the only Kiwi cricketer to play 100 T20I

Lockie Ferguson, in the fifth round, got his hands on Naim (27). From there, all the momentum shifted to the New Zealand side as visitors lost wickets in quick succession. Ish Sodhi picked two wickets in the sixth plus before scalping two again in his next. Bangladesh’s score was 59/6 after completing eight assists.
Mohammad Saifuddin and Afif Hossain then took charge of the prosecution. The two mixed caution and aggression and gave the team some momentum despite the game having already slipped out of the hands of Bangladesh. The two formed a 63-year partnership before Ferguson fired Hossain (45).

Mohammad Saifuddin scored 10 points in the final, contested by Daryl Mitchell, as the visitors scored 144 on their allotted overs.

Also Read: New Zealand vs Bangladesh T20 Series: NZ vs BAN Full Schedule, Full Squads, Live Stream, Date, Time, Venues – Everything You Need To Know

After choosing to beat first, New Zealand got off to a bad start, with Finn Allen being sent back to the flag first on the innings on a duck. Martin Guptill was then joined by Devon Conway. Both played brilliantly and took the team past the 50-point mark in the seventh, but at the same time, Nasum Ahmed dismissed Guptill (35).

Will Young then came in the middle. Conway formed a wonderful partnership with Young and put New Zealand in the driver’s seat. The two hit regular limits and took the team’s score past 100 in the 12 plus. The duo continued to strike across borders and formed a partnership of 105, both completing their respective half centuries.

Mahedi Hasan gave Bangladesh the much-needed breakthrough after securing Young (53) in 17th place. In the final overs, Conway and Glenn Phillips hit Bangladesh bowlers all around the park and brought the team’s total to 210. Conway scored 92 on just 52 balls while Phillips played a 24-point stroke on 10 deliveries.

New Zealand beat BAN: Conway and Sodhi help New Zealand crush Bangladesh by 66 points to take 1-0 lead in T20I series

New Zealand defeated BAN: Bangladesh Innings 144/ 8 (20 ovs) lost by 66 points.

New Zealand beats BAN: New Zealand Innings 210/3 (20 ovs)

NZ vs BAN 1st T20I LIVE: New Zealand playing XI: Martin Guptill, Finn Allen (debut), Devon Conway (wk), Will Young (debut), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee (capt), Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennett, Lockie Ferguson

Bangladesh playing XI: Liton Das (w), Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed (start), Shoriful Islam (start), Mustafizur Rahman

Meet: NZ vs BAN, 1st T20I, Bangladesh tour in New Zealand, 2021
Dated: Saturday March 28, 2021
Time: 6:30 am IST
Location: Seddon Park, Hamilton
NZ vs BAN, 1st T20I

The New Zealand team:

Tim Southee (C), Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman, Will Young, Todd Astle, Daryl Mitchell, Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Hamish Bennett, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi

Bangladesh team:

Mahmudullah Riyad (C), Mosaddek Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmudah, Meizhedi Mirazdin Rahman Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Nasum Ahmed.

For updates on cricket and other sports, follow us on