As Delhi lowers the legal drinking age to 21, here’s a look at the rules in other states

Here is a list of legal drinking ages in some states and UTs in India.

The Delhi government announced on Monday that the legal drinking age in the nation’s capital has been lowered to 21 from 25. The government has also said that no new liquor stores will be opened in the city. “There will be no government liquor stores in Delhi,” Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia told a press conference when speaking about the excise policy changes approved by the cabinet.

Sisodia added that the policy aims to control the “liquor mafia” and that excise taxes on the sale of alcohol are expected to increase by 20 percent per year instead of the 5 percent, the current annual growth.

Read also | Delhi: It’s time for alcohol policy to become major

Among other metropolitan cities, strong alcohol is prohibited for those under 25 in Mumbai, allowing only wine and beer. While nearly 60% of India’s 28 states and eight union territories allow the sale of alcohol to those over 21, Delhi is among the five states and union territories that have banned the sale to people under 25. The others being Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Here is a list of the legal drinking age in some states and UTs in India –

1. Delhi – 25

2. Haryana – 25

3. Punjab – 25

4. Chandigarh (UT) – 25

5. Uttar Pradesh – 21

6. Uttarakhand – 21

7. Himachal Pradesh – 18

8. Rajasthan – 18

9. Jammu and Kashmir – 21

10. Ladakh – 21

11. Maharashtra – 21 (for beer / wine), 25 (for hard liquor)

12. Madhya Pradesh – 21

13. Sikkim – 18

14. Meghalaya – 18

15. West Bengal – 21

Kerala is the only state in India where the legal drinking age is 23. The sale of alcohol is prohibited in five states, namely Gujarat, Bihar, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura.

To close